Chinese · Drama · Hong Kong

Presumed Accidents (純熟意外) {First Impressions} (Ep. 1-6)

I can’t remember the reason why I started this drama. I think it might have been the trailer that caught my attention. Or I was just craving a drama that I didn’t need to wait for english subs for lol.

The plot overview from asianuniverse:

George Kiu (Lawrence Ng) is an antiques dealer who is gentle, well-learned in Western and Chinese cultures and has a comfortable, carefree life. Since his late wife (Selena Li) passed away, he has been living a single lifestyle. Only his housekeeper Chow Chung knows everything about him. One day, George encounters insurance company investigator Eunice Yan (Sisley Choi) at the hospital. It brings ripples into his quiet life. As Eunice investigates the accident that caused her parents’ death, she discovers that her life is somehow related to George’s. To get closer to Eunice, George even joins the investigation company. He meets Mantus Chuk (Chris Lai), who is pursuing Eunice. George and Eunice eventually discover that many accidents appear to be controlled by someone behind the scenes. Just as they get close to the truth, a person – Faye Lin (Selena Li) who resembles George’s late wife appears. It turns out that both Mantus and Faye are hiding their secret backgrounds…

Cast: Lawrence Ng (吳啟華), Sisley Choi (蔡思貝), Selena Li (李施嬅), Joyce Tang (滕麗名), Chris Lai Lok Yi (黎諾懿), Raymond Cho (曹永廉)
Language: Cantonese
Number of episodes: 28
Airing date: May 2016
Opening Theme: Hubert Wu (胡鴻鈞) – 命運的意外 (Unexpected Fate)

Fm96lFK - Imgur

Eunice seems to be an overly righteous person who likes investigating way too much. She should have been a police/detective or something. Everyone says her acting has improved; I’ve never seen her previous works so I wouldn’t know but to me it still feels kind of awkward and forced. Though it did get better as the drama continued.

sVRk9BL - Imgur

George is a bit of a mystery. It seems like he’s one of those immortal/doesn’t die people because of the opening scene of him dying/not-dying in the past (?) Yeah…I don’t know. But I do like his character~ he’s really nice and considerate. Very gentlemanly-like, despite coming off as a little strange/a creep with his sudden attachment to Eunice after meeting her lol. I also like that he’s always suited up in a three-piece (minus the jacket). Looking sharp~ I’ve read some comments from people joking that he’s like batman – lots of money and free time and a very capable butler hahahaha

eUrOyjC - Imgur

The first episode wasn’t that great. Was kind of boring and I had considered dropping it afterwards but somehow, I was bored so I decided to just continue watching it and it got better. They’re supposed to be investigating for insurance frauds but I feel like they go above and beyond to find out the whole “truth” behind the cases, which I find to be unnecessary to their profession lol but hey~ I love these kinds of investigative dramas so I’m not complaining. Much. Lol

I think the plot is starting to reveal itself in episode 6 as we see George gets hit by a speeding car (which is kind of his fault because this dumbass was texting while crossing the middle of the street in the middle of the night! Don’t do that people! At least look up from your phones when crossing the streets!) and looks to be bleeding to death. But he doesn’t really die. Instead, we later see him behind a veil in his room with his butler telling him to rest well. This dude definitely has got some super powers or something.

And of course, Eunice had planned to confess to him the night of his accident and with his disappearance, she takes it as him rejecting her. Hmm…

qYe6eYr - Imgur

Anyways, I am more interested in watching them solve the “insurance fraud” cases as opposed to the budding lovelines/triangles. Also looking forward to when Selena’s character makes an appearance! ^^

Jlepgir - Imgur

Oh~ and another thing I wanted to say: I love, love, LOVEEEEEEEE the theme song to this drama! (Linked above) When I first heard it I was like omg, is this Hubert Wu?! And it turns out he does sing it! Had to get this song immediately and it’s been on repeat ever since o(≧∇≦o) haha 

One thought on “Presumed Accidents (純熟意外) {First Impressions} (Ep. 1-6)

Leave a Reply

