Drama · Korean

Goblin (도깨비) First Impressions (Ep. 1-4)

While I’m waiting for The Princess Weiyoung to finish airing and subbing (bc I know it’s gonna get pretty angsty and I don’t want to prolong my agony by having to wait for the subs to be released ><) I went poking around for a new drama to watch and decided to check this one out because a friend recommended it and said I might like it. ^^

Plot overview from soompi:

Kim Shin (Gong Yoo) is a goblin who is also a protector of souls. He lives together with an amnesiac grim reaper (Lee Dong Wook) who is in charge of taking deceased souls. Together the two of them sees the dead off into the afterlife. Meanwhile, Ji Eun Tak (Kim Go Eun) is a high school student who despite her painful reality, remains optimistic. She ends up falling in love with the goblin. Kim Sun (Yoo In Na) is an owner of a chicken shop; a bright and attractive girl who is loved by all men.

You can watch this drama with english subs on dramafever~

Main Cast: Gong Yoo (공유), Lee Dong Wook (이동욱), Kim Go Eun (김고은), Yoo In Na (유인나), Yook Sungjae (육성재)
Language: Korean
# of episodes: 16
Airing Date: December 2016
OST: CHANYEOL (찬열), PUNCH (펀치) – Stay With Me

(Side note, the OST is AMAZING!! I really love this song~! (And one other one but it hasn’t been released yet ><) It’s been on repeat for days and I find it really suits Chanyeol’s voice~ not bad hehe)

Tbh when I saw the trailer for this drama during dramafire ads, I wasn’t too impressed nor looking forward to watching it. But my friend recommended it to me and I am so glad she did because I’m in love with this. ♥(ˆ⌣ˆԅ)

It’s been a long time since I’ve been so hooked and in love with a kdrama. I think the last amazing sauce kdrama I watched was probably Signal earlier this year.

The first episode gave me Up flashbacks. I hate when they start off with something super sad right away that makes me cry. (੭ ˃̣̣̥ ㅂ˂̣̣̥)੭ु But after the hump, the drama got loads lighter.

The female lead, Ji Eun Tak is such a bright girl. She’s so adorable and I really love her bright, innocent personality despite growing up with such a rough life.

the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-05the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-16

The goblin, Kim Shin, holy crap not only is he ridiculously good looking but his character is amazing too. I like how he’s called a goblin but is kind of a God? He has special powers and he uses them to help certain people when they really need it. I like that.

the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-03the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-17the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-07the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-14

The grim reaper. Oh my god I LOVE THIS GUY! He’s pretty much stoic and emotionless 80% of the time but when he does show emotions, it’s hilarious. I especially love his interactions with Kim Shin because it’s always so freaking hilarious. Totally shipping this bromance.

They seriously bicker like an old married couple (*≧▽≦)ノシ))

Yoo In Na’s character is just this cool lady that comes off as kind of airy to me. And Yook Sungjae is doing pretty well with his character too~

the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-09the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-15

This drama is seriously so beautifully filmed and fun to watch~ the scenery/settings out in the fields, parks, and the friggin mansion itself makes me drool lol. It’s such a fun drama to watch and starts off really good too!! Hopefully it stays awesome until the end! One thing though, is I’m not too sure about the main loveline plot. I mean, a ‘supposedly’ middle-aged man and a barely legal highschooler? Its a bit weird to me. Ji Eun Tak and Kim Shin, when together, gives off this innocent charm to me though so I guess they could work that angle. Hugs and (cuddles?) would be cute between them but if I had to deal with kiss scenes it would just make me shrivel.

the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-02the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-11the-goblin-%eb%8f%84%ea%b9%a8%eb%b9%84-12

2 thoughts on “Goblin (도깨비) First Impressions (Ep. 1-4)

  1. I’m watching this too, and was actually surprised on how much I liked it. Was also watching Legend but dropped it after the 4th epi … pace of the drama is quite slow.
    Everything about Goblin is so likeable.. the character relationship, the OST … let’s hope it keep up until the end and doesn’t disappoint like DOTS *side eyes*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

