Korean · Movie

Train to Busan (부산행) {Movie Review}

I heard of this movie when it first came out in Korea and was interested in watching it when I was over in Seoul over summer but with the lack of english subtitles and my limited Korean, I figured I’d just wait until there were English subs.

Plot overview from imdb: (pretty straight-forward really lol)

While a zombie-virus breaks out in South Korea, a couple of passengers struggle to survive on the train from Seoul to Busan.

Casting: Gong Yoo (공유), Ma Dong Seok (마동석), Jung Yumi (정유미), Kim Su-an (김수안), Kim Eui-sang (김의성), Choi Wooshik (최우식), Ahn Sohee (안소희)
Language: Korean
Genre: Action, Suspense-Thriller
Duration: 118 minutes
Release Date: July 2016

003-derniertrain

Initially, I wanted to check out this movie because of Choi Wooshik (watched him in Ten and loved his adorable looks!) but then after starting Goblin, I fell in love with Gong Yoo so I searched for more of his stuff. This movie came up and then I remembered oh yeah, I wanted to watch this a few months ago, found a website that had this with English subtitles and decided to watch it immediately after coming home from work~ (Random but I went on a Gong Yoo binge lately so expect a flood of reviews for his works coming up~hehe)

Not really a fan of zombie apocalypse. Tbh I don’t even know why I wanted to watch this movie to begin with. I hate horror and avoid it with a passion. But I think I am more okay with zombies than ghosts. Anyways, I don’t know what to say about this movie except that I really liked it and enjoyed watching it. I suck with writing real reviews. All these ‘review’ posts I do is just me spewing and sharing my thoughts haha.

traintobusan

I liked how there were many different types of characters in this movie and the character development of the male lead. He went from being a selfish, self-centered guy, to being more compassionate and caring for others.

This wasn’t one of those pop up scary shit so that was good. But the zombie-fication escalated pretty quickly so I was just O_O most of the time while watching. It had me emotionally involved but then again, I had a biased attachment to Gong Yoo to begin with so that’s a pretty moot point lol.

train_to_busan_h_2016

traintobusan7

Thoughts;

(May contain major spoilers)

One thing I didn’t understand though at the end. It seems like the soldiers stationed at Busan managed to kill the zombies? So they can be killed with guns…why didn’t the soldiers at Daegu manage to kill any then? Or why did it seem like none of them could be killed?

But anyways, I hated that whatever express transportation CEO dude. He was so fucking selfish! So many people died because of him! It was all for nothing because he still got turned in the end but this stubborn, selfish, fuck face was selfish until the end and instead of doing a good deed in his life, he ruined Gong Yoo’s character too! 。゜(`Д´)゜。 I was so mad and sad when he got bitten! T__T I was bawling my eyes out at that scene because it was so sad but then I also couldn’t stop laughing because Gong Yoo’s screaming cries were so damn funny! o(≧∇≦o) I’m so horrible, I’m going to hell for this lol.

Another random thing I wanted to note, there was no way in hell the baby in the pregnant lady would have survived. The stress alone would have killed the fetus. (Though, I couldn’t help thinking while watching this movie, that if this happened in real life, I’d definitely be one of the first ones to get turned lol)

Anyways, I heard there’s going to be an English adaptation of this movie~ Don’t know if I’ll watch it but I do wonder how it’ll turn out~

(Btw, I saw this movie a day before ep 7 of Goblin was released so it was pretty hilarious when the movie they went to watch was Train to Busan haha!)

Leave a Reply

