Drama · Korean · Review

Goblin (도깨비) {Series Review}

Click here for this drama’s intro and first impression post

goblin-10

I feel so EMPTY now that this drama is over. ・゜・(ノД`) This is probably my favorite drama of 2016/2017! Really fell in love with each and everyone of the characters. I’m gonna miss all of them, especially goblin Gong Yoo! T____T

Gong Yoo! He did such a wonderful job with his goblin character. I loved how he was mostly calm and collected but when he was around Ji Eun Tak, it brought out his childish side. I loved the bickering and bromance between him and the Grim Reaper. If you didn’t know better, you’d be confused of what the main love lines were (ᗒᗜᗕ)՛̵̖ It was cute. I really loved their relationship.

goblin-08

Kim Go Eun did a wonderful job as Ji Eun Tak too! I’ve been reading a lot of comments from international fans that they don’t really like her character because she’s too weak, cries too much, and does too much aegyo. Personally, I loved her aegyo filled character. (Of course it made me feel a little weird if you think too hard about her romantic relationship with the goblin who’s a much older man but really, their relationship gave off an innocent feel to it) I feel like a lot of people forgot that Ji Eun Tak is just a high schooler. You can’t really expect much maturity/independence from her. The childishness is a given in this situation.

goblin-09goblin-06

The Grim Reaper was such a pitiful character throughout the whole drama. Though I really love his cluelessness when he had to start interacting with the real world and posing as a real human being haha. He was just so cute! Both him and Sunny! (Imagine, Lee Dong Wook almost didn’t become the Grim Reaper. I read somewhere that he was rejected for the role 5 times! Good thing he persisted! He was such an adorable Reaper~)

goblin-05goblin-07

Sunny’s character came off as a little too much at first but over time she really mellowed out and become more mature and muted. I wish we got to see more of her character development though.

goblin-15

I was really worried watching the drama because there really was no way for them to have a happy ending. After all, the drama was heavily centered around the themes of life and death. We knew the goblin was going to disappear into nothingness at one point but still…everyone wants a happy ending. The last four episodes had me bawling like a baby. I can’t remember the last time I cried so much while watching a drama. It was such a wild emotional roller coaster ride. The amount of feels! My heart really couldn’t take it. I got way too emotional invested in this drama lol.

goblin-17goblin-11

The OST was so beautiful too! I loved all the songs but my favorites would definitely be Crush – Beautiful, Ailee – I Will Go to You Like the First Snow (currently listening to this one on repeat. It’s so sad!! T___T), Soyou – I Miss You, and Eddy Kim – You Are So Beautiful. (Of course, Chanyeol and Punch’s Stay With Me is high on the charts too!)

Crush – Beautiful

Ailee – 첫눈처럼 너에게 가겠다 (I Will Go To You Like the First Snow)

Soyou – I Miss You

Eddy Kim – 이쁘다니까 (You Are So Beautiful)

If I had to rate this drama on a scale of 1-10, I’d give it a 11 because it’s so freaking good! I love, love, loveeeeee this drama and would totally recommend it! This is probably the only drama that I’d be willing to watch over and over again. (Most dramas after I watch the episode, I don’t go back but this one I’ve actually gone back and watched a few episodes multiple times!) The cinematography was stunning and beautiful. Especially the buckwheat garden! Seriously, everything was so aesthetically pleasing~♥

goblin-02

I’m glad there was a happy ending for everyone (kind of) but still felt that the last episode was kind of rushed. ): Oh wells. I will take what I can get. Now that this drama is over, I hope Gong Yoo can rest lots! Looking forward to his future works!

goblin-12

Thoughts;

(May contain major spoilers)

While the ending was a happy one, especially for the Grim Reaper and Sunny (well, they deserve one after all the heartaches they went through in two lifetimes!), I feel like Ji Eun Tak and Kim Shin’s ending was bittersweet. And left me with a lot of questions. After he got his sword pulled out, he’s supposed to be able to move on but he chose to stay in limbo between life and death just for that one small chance of returning to Ji Eun Tak. I loved that the contract between them was the loophole that allowed his return but now I feel like he just chose to suffer for all of eternity just to be able to be with Ji Eun Tak. After all, the girl is still human. There’s gonna be a day where she dies and he’s just cursed to wait for her reincarnation? Then what happens after she goes through all four lives? I feel like this is such a cruel punishment for the two of them. Just thinking about it breaks my heart. ‧º·(˚ ˃̣̣̥⌓˂̣̣̥ )‧º·˚

goblin-16goblin-14

I liked how God was portrayed here as a butterfly. He does what he thinks is best for his humans but at the same time, he listens to them and takes in their opinions too. For instance when Kim Shin said he didn’t want to move on, as cruel as it was being stuck in limbo, God left him there because that was Kim Shin’s choice. He also left Sunny’s memories in tact because that’s what she wanted. So he wasn’t completely cruel.

I just wished Ji Eun Tak could’ve been granted immortality too so that she can spend it with Kim Shin. I thought she would be turned into an angel or something because that’s what people were saying about her when they were watching the report on her accident. But then she didn’t and I find that scene totally pointless.

Sighhh at least we got a few more fluffy scenes between Kim Shin and Ji Eun Tak before it all went to shit. Thank you for such a wonderful drama♡

goblin-04

(And this is really strange and random but I really like watching Gong Yoo kissing scenes lol he just looks like such a good kisser lol jealous of his costars~ ^///^)

goblin-13

One thought on “Goblin (도깨비) {Series Review}

Leave a comment