Chinese · Drama · Mainland · Series Review

Candle in the Tomb (鬼吹灯之精绝古城) {Series Review}

Started this after watching Stay With Me. Chen Qiao En is so pretty! (●♡∀♡) First time watching a tomb raiding thing so this should be interesting~

Plot overview from wikipedia:

Hu Ba Yi is well versed in Feng Shui with specialization in tomb configuration, which he learned from an antique book he inherited from his family. The knowledge saved his life when him fell into a ditch in a snow avalanche in Tibet. And again when he and his friends joined an archaeology team to explore the “ghost cave” of Taklamakan Desert. As he helped the team navigate through the dangers, he couldn’t help feeling that someone had predicted their every move.

Main Cast: Jin Dong (靳东), Zhao Da (赵达), Chen Qiao En (陈乔恩)
Language: Chinese Mandarin
# of episodes: 21
Airing Date: December 2016
OST: Jane Zhang (张靓颖) – 顺流而下

Reading the synopsis on dramafever didn’t really help. It got my attention but it also raised my expectations to see Chen Qiao En right away. Chen Qiao En’s character Shirley didn’t appear until episode 5 or 6. This was my first time watching something about tomb raiding so I didn’t know to expect. I thought it would stay pretty close to reality but there were monsters and zombies coming to life that took me completely by surprised. If you’ve followed my recaps, I noted at the end of which episodes that scared the crap out of me and got me screaming like a baby lol.

Pretty good drama though. The tombs were all really interesting and the sets were crazy amazing! I really liked Hu Ba Yi. He’s a really upstanding and knowledgeable character. What I liked most about him was that he’s really intelligent and always keeps a level head no matter the situation. It was all mostly thanks to him that the archaeology team was about to (mostly) come home in one piece.

006ewc9ugw1f8gmrs2exej30hj0m8wgf

There was a lot of action with a good amount of suspense and mystery. Seriously kept me hooked. I looked forward to the three episodes released every week! It was the first thing I watched every Tuesday after work haha

I heard this was a big budget drama production so it was a little disappointing to see how some of their green screen effects were kind of bad. You could totally tell they shot the scene in front of a green screen because the editing was just so poor and obvious. It got kind of distracting at times.

Other than that, I had no other qualms about the drama. It was enjoyable and I really liked it. Up until the ending. Lol, the ending. The ending left me hanging over a cliff. I went digging some more and apparently there’s going to be seven seasons of this drama. SEVEN?! Wtf is this, some kind of American show?! But yeah, this is just the first chapter of the seven chapter novel. I started this drama because it seemed so short but now I feel like this was a mistake lol.

1f3c23b1-acf2-476d-9ebd-ded964dcf1b0

The second season will be aired later this year I heard. Definitely looking forward to it since the ending left me with many questions.

Not much thoughts on this drama this time since I was recapping it as I was watching so whatever commentary/thoughts I had, they were posted already in my recap posts. If you haven’t seen them, you can check them out below! (It was my first time recapping a drama so I hope I did alright ><)

Episode Recaps

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21

006ewC9ugw1f8gmrqyoltj30hk0m8q4v.jpg

5 thoughts on “Candle in the Tomb (鬼吹灯之精绝古城) {Series Review}

Leave a Reply

