Drama · Korean

The 1st Shop of Coffee Prince (커피프린스 1호점) {Series Review}

I honestly cannot believe I sat through this old ass drama. For Gong Yoo. This obsession is real lol

Plot overview from asianwiki:

Han Kyul (Gong Yoo) the handsome son of a wealthy hotelier family who is set in his bachelor ways and constantly deflects his family’s attempts to make him commit. The constant pressure to get married drives him to hire a goofy young delivery boy Eun Chan to pretend to be his gay lover to scare away his family’s set-ups. Trouble starts when Han Kyul begins to get to know the hardworking and lovable Eun Chan, and begins to develop real feelings for him—only to discover that “he” is actually a girl disguised as a boy.

Main Cast: Yoon Eunhye (윤은혜), Gong Yoo (공유), Lee Sunkyun (이선균), Chae Jung-an (장정안)
Language: Korean
# of episodes: 17
Airing Date: July 2007
OST: The Melody – Lalala, It’s Love!

I remember a long time ago when my cousin first got into Korean dramas, he was telling me to watch Coffee Prince because it was so good. (I watched lots of dramas but it was more Hong Kong and Japanese ones than Korean ones.) Now almost ten years later, I finally sat down and watched this. I can kind of see the appeal of why it was so popular. Though I wonder if Koreans will ever get sick of the cliched super handsome rich conglomerate man falling in love with the dirt poor girl trope. (Probably not since we’re still getting this shit today. rolls eyes)

Personally, I didn’t think it was that great. The cast was good and they all did a wonderful job! But I just could not stand Go Eun Chan character. Her mannerisms and the way she talks came off as barbaric and forceful to me. Especially her interactions with Han Kyul’s grandmother. In the drama they found it charming (??) but I just found it off putting. Though it may just be me.

Han Kyul is like a giant baby. He’s stubborn and loses his temper easily. He loves his legos and just wants to design toys for a living. Speaking of legos, his lego kingdom is amazing holy shit I would love to build that set!! It was hilarious watching him tease and bully Eun Chan more as his feelings for the other grew. It’s like watching two elementary school kids play haha.

I have to admit though, I did skip around a lot. I watched mostly Gong Yoo’s parts (because I was going into withdrawal while waiting for Goblin to air!) so I can’t really critique this drama fully. It’s weird watching it now in 2016 (I know it’s 2017 when this post goes up but I actually finished watching this a few months ago) because all the trends and styles are completely different. Their style back then makes me cringe and laugh.

This drama was alright for me. Not really my cup of tea. Probably wouldn’t have ever watch it if I didn’t start obsessing over Gong Yoo lol.

(**Sorry for the lack of pictures for this post. This drama is quite old. The links for official pictures on the official drama site is broken so I can’t find any HQ pics and I don’t want to post low quality screen caps so I shall just leave this void of pictures. sad face)

Thoughts;

(May contain major spoilers)

One thing that I couldn’t help but notice was that they never wore socks with their shoes! Also, they actually took off their shoes before entering the house. Barefoot. Even if they were wearing sneakers, once the shoes came off, they were barefoot! I don’t know why this bothered me so much lol I am totally not used to it. Most modern dramas nowadays have the actors wearing shoes into the house or if not, they have socks and/or slippers on. It was just so weird seeing so much bare feet lol.

Despite not really liking Eun Chan’s character, I really like how strongly she was written. The one thing I really liked was how she was so determined to be independent and not just rely on Han Kyul. She was determined to establish herself before marriage and that’s really admirable. If I was in her shoes, I would have been all over that marriage immediately. Being the cute housewife of a hot, rich guy is like a dream come true for me lol. Tired of trying to be independent and I’m so done with the 9-5 grind. (Too bad I won’t be able to escape it any time soon. cries)

One thought on “The 1st Shop of Coffee Prince (커피프린스 1호점) {Series Review}

Leave a Reply

