Chinese · Drama · Mainland · Review

When a Snail Falls in Love (如果蜗牛有爱情) {Series Review}

I first learned about Ding Mo’s novels to dramas when I first watched Love Me If You Dare (他来了,请闭眼) (seriously this drama was my gateway to the amazing sauce that is China dramas lol) and learned that there were a few more in production: When a Snail Falls in Love (如果蜗牛有爱情) and Memory Lost (美人為餡). This drama was definitely on my list after watching Wang Kai in Love Me If You Dare. I want to check out Memory Lost too but unfortunately it’s not english subbed anywhere yet and I’m not confident in my Chinese at all to watch it raw so I guess I shall wait.

Plot synopsis from d-addicts:

Detective Ji Bai and new criminal profiler Xu Xu may seem like an awkward teacher-student pair at first glance, yet they are actually the best partners in the police force, solving one crime after another. Ji Bai slowly falls in love with Xu Xu, yet she is a girl who is as slow as a snail when it comes to love. Just as Xu Xu starts to reciprocate Ji Bai’s feelings, the dormant “Angel’s Killer” reappears.

You can watch this with english subs on dramafever and viki~

Main Cast: Wang Kai (王凯), Wang Zi Wen (王子文), Yu Heng (于恒), Xu Yue (徐悦)
Language: Mandarin Chinese
Number of episodes: 21
Airing Date: October 2016
Opening Theme: Joey Z. (曾婕) – 幸福的终点 (The End of Happiness)

So when I started this, I only knew Wang Kai was in this. And then I saw Yu Heng and was all O_O!! I got pretty excited because he was also in Decoded (解密) but his character was kind of minor so I didn’t see much of him. Even though he was just a supporting character in this drama, I was still excited to watch what him act~! No lie, from that drama, aside from Cheney (the reason I started it), I also came to like Yu Heng and Zhang Zhe Han (张哲瀚). Han Bing was a pretty shuai character ٩(♡ε♡ )۶ hahaha

when-a-snail-falls-in-love-15

I’m a sucker for crime dramas though this one was a little different from what I was expecting. I thought they would be solving a whole bunch of different crimes but it was really a couple of smaller cases that was part of one big case. The main character Xuxu was a bit strange. Her social skills were a little off but still adorable. I think it helped that Wang Zi Wen was short as fuck and her height difference with Wang Kai made it so fucking cute lol. But yes, she did look like a little kid most of the time.

when-a-snail-falls-in-love-11when-a-snail-falls-in-love-07when-a-snail-falls-in-love-05

This drama was beautifully shot. I loved the cinematography of it. There was this warm filter on it and it felt like a movie. Though one thing I did notice (and couldn’t stop noticing afterwards) was how shaky the camera work was. Not super noticeable but it made me think they shot this with their own hands instead of with machinery/equipment. A lot of the times when they were doing close ups, the screen would shake a bit – like the camera wasn’t steady. I’m not sure if it was intended or not but oh wells. It wasn’t too distracting so it’s all good haha.

Wang Kai was super duper handsome in this. Ugh. I just…can’t. He is unknowingly creeping up my list haha Ji Bai was a good mix of seriousness and gentleness/caring. Plus he kicks ass and looks so cool doing it! (●♡∀♡) I love the small banters he has with Zhao Han and the subtle flirting he does with Xuxu.

when-a-snail-falls-in-love-04when-a-snail-falls-in-love-14when-a-snail-falls-in-love-16

Xu Yu’s character was so freaking cute too. Yao Meng is a tom boy, ridiculously strong, and has a really strong sense of justice. But she’s also a sensitive soul so I think her personality is pretty balanced.

when-a-snail-falls-in-love-06when-a-snail-falls-in-love-12

(These review posts are more of me spazzing and spamming pictures lol.) Don’t really have much to say about Zhao Han. His character is really likable. He’s a bit ridiculous though haha. I think he’s more like the comic relief. He might have been my favorite character!

when-a-snail-falls-in-love-09

Oh another thing I really loved about this drama: the cartoon drawings! I love how each of them are depicted as an animal~ the drawings are so damn cute too!

Overall, I really enjoyed the drama. It was pretty much my cup of tea: lots of action with a hint of romance. The casts were all cute/handsome (I like my visuals when watching a drama alright? lol) and did an amazing job~! Now I think I’m gonna go read the novel because apparently the romance is…steamier and stronger than in the drama (but let’s be real here, the romance was practically nonexistent in the drama. Really subtle until the end that is. Lol but I liked it like that so I’m glad the drama wasn’t too romance focused.) The end though…the one and only kiss scene and it looked like he was about to eat her face. I couldn’t stop laughing (*≧▽≦)ノシ))

‘Tis a good drama to watch~ totally would recommend it to people who like action dramas. (So much action!!) Looking forward to Wang Kai’s next work: Stay With Me! (It’s airing this month!!)

Leave a comment