Chinese · Mainland · Movie

Kung Fu Yoga (功夫瑜伽) {Movie Review}

This is late, but happy lunar new years friends! Been looking forward to watching this movie ever since my beloved Zhang Yixing was announced as part of the cast ♥

Plot summary from wikipedia:

Jack (Jackie Chan), a renowned professor of archaeology at the Terracotta Warriors Museum in Xi’an, teams up with young Indian professor Ashmita and assistant Kyra to locate India’s lost Magadha treasure in Tibet.

Main Cast: Jackie Chan, Aarif Lee (李治廷), Zhang Yixing (张艺兴), Miya Muqi (母其弥雅), Sonu Sood, Disha Patani
Language: Chinese/English
Genre: Action/Adventure, Comedy
Duration: 107 minutes
Release Date: January 2017

kung-fu-yoga-16

Pretty typical Jackie Chan movie – lots of fighting action scenes with laughter weaved in here and there. Yixing was cute as fuck and his English lines/pronunciation was good! But that’s pretty much all the positivity I have to say about this movie.

kung-fu-yoga-11kung-fu-yoga-14

The movie starts off in Chinese but I would say about 75% of the dialogue is in English. I think this movie was supposed to be kind of like National Treasure (?) with the supposed treasure hunting but I don’t know man, the plot felt like a mess. It was choppy and forced and not very engaging for the audience. I don’t think it was meant to be one of those stupid-comedy movies but there were a lot of times as I was watching, I was thinking to myself ‘this is stupid.’

kung-fu-yoga-03kung-fu-yoga-13kung-fu-yoga-18

I’ve only watched a few stuff that centers around ancient treasures so I can’t say I’m super knowledgeable on this genre. But I have noticed that they usually are accompanied by historical knowledge thrown in such as background about the treasure, where it’s hidden, how it’s hidden, mechanisms, etc. There were bits like this in the movie but when it happened, it was really random. Most of the time I felt like Jack (the archaeology professor) was spewing random facts just to move along. There was no flow at all to the shit they said.

kung-fu-yoga-04kung-fu-yoga-01kung-fu-yoga-07

Actually, now that I think about it, the dialogue throughout the whole movie was strange. Who the hell wrote this?!

I’m also not sure how yoga played a part in this other than the other half of the cast being Indian and the setting was in India. I know nothing about yoga but I think I only caught two references to yoga in this movie – one where they’re actually doing yoga and another where one of the characters talks about using some sort of yoga technique to swim underwater longer. Both were in the first 20 minutes of the movie. After that, I don’t think that theme came up again.

kung-fu-yoga-09kung-fu-yoga-10

I feel kind of bad ragging on this movie but it was just terrible in my opinion. I don’t think it was a waste of money to watch in theaters for me because I’m a hardcore Yixing fangirl and I’ll pay to watch any crap to support my favorite artist. But for non-fangirls, I’d say it’s not a movie I’d pay to watch lol. (Will I get in trouble for saying that?)

kung-fu-yoga-17kung-fu-yoga-15

Oh! And the ending! It hella threw me off. They just suddenly started dancing together bollywood style and my sister says it’s supposed to be the ending credits but holy crap it was random as fuck.

Meh.

Anyways, have some more Yixing! My cute little sheep~ ( ˘ ³˘)♥

kung-fu-yoga-02kung-fu-yoga-08kung-fu-yoga-06kung-fu-yoga-05kung-fu-yoga-12

One thought on “Kung Fu Yoga (功夫瑜伽) {Movie Review}

Leave a comment